Explaining Religion

Thanks to my subscription to The Economist, which I consider my primary source of thoughtful news and analysis, I have just found out about the Explaining Religion project, described in detail at the University of Oxford. In this three year endeavor, researchers seek to get to the bottom of some of the causes of religious belief. Having just discovered the project myself, I cannot give it any justice here, at least not yet. Instead, I refer the reader to Oxford’s list of research activities.

I hope to return to this project, and to describe some of its findings in greater detail, in later posts.

2 Responses to Explaining Religion

  1. RuediG says:

    Since you find The Economist’s writers/editors interesting, have you read God is Back: How the Global Rise of Faith is Changing the World, by John Micklethwait and Adrian Wooldridge? I’ve read a couple of reviews, though not the book itself. Sounds interesting, though.

  2. kpharri says:

    Hi Ruedi

    I have not read it, but thanks for the tip, I’ll check it out, and possibly add it to my growing stack of books waiting to be read!

Leave a Reply

