God’s will

I object to the purpose theists ascribe to free will, namely to allow us to make a choice about following God. I don’t think that God actually offers us a free choice in this matter, but a strongly coerced one. However, what disturbs me further is the idea that once a Christian has used her free will to choose God, she is expected to seek God’s will in all she does (even Jesus himself, before his death, is supposed to have said to God “not what I want, but what you want”).

I have often heard the will of the individual Christian being berated as an inherently selfish, deeply flawed source of guidance, desperately in need of being set straight by aligning itself with the will of God. How odd, then, that God trusts us to use our will to choose him in the first place.

2 Responses to God’s will

  1. christianclarityreview says:

    God actually doesn’t give us free will. To be a Christian you have to be a different creature than a fallen human being. You are born again, literally by hearing the Word of God against your will. God is Creating Speech/Christ; He creates as part of His nature.

    John 1:12,13 but as many as received him, to them gave he the right to be children of God, to those that believe on his name; who have been born, not of blood, nor of flesh’s will, nor of man’s will, but of God.

    1Peter 1:23 being born again, not of corruptible seed, but of incorruptible, by the living and abiding word of God.

    Those who speak of human beings having free will -even if they say they represent Jesus Christ– are the exact same persons who do not have God as Word, deny that God as Word exists as a separate speech than human speech / demonic speech, have no purpose for the Incarnation of the Word of God in Jesus Christ and imply that Satan and God have the same speech and essentially say that hell and heaven will be filled with identical creatures in two different places.

    The reality is that new creatures in Jesus Christ are and will be in heaven while non-new creatures will be in the lake of fire.

    You seem to want to make fun of Christians and to deny that God came as Word in flesh, which makes that spirit you have of the antichrist.

    1John 4:2,3 Hereby ye know the Spirit of God: every spirit which confesses Jesus Christ come in flesh is of God; and every spirit which does not confess Jesus Christ come in flesh is not of God: and this is that power of the antichrist, of which ye have heard that it comes, and now it is already in the world.

    I see you think you used to be a Christian and have ‘de-converted’. I’d hate for you to spin your wheels making up a false Christianity to make fun of. Why not make fun of the real thing? But then you may be so vested in resenting your old teachers who lied to you that false Christianity is your favorite Christianity to make fun of. That happens a lot.

    A LOT.

    Mark 7:7 But in vain do they worship me, teaching as their teachings commandments of men.

    timothy

    In the Name of Jesus Christ, Amen

    • kpharri says:

      Timothy – thanks for your comments.

      I apologize if my posts come across as making fun of Christianity. I certainly aim to criticize what I see as Christianity’s (and and all religions’) flaws, but I try not to make fun. You, on the other hand, seem quite content accusing me of having the spirit of the antichrist. Luckily, I do not subscribe to such superstitions, so little offense is taken.

      Also, you are mistaken in assuming that my criticisms are leveled only at the teachings I received many years ago as a young Christian. The fact of the matter is that I’ve probably learned more about theology and the scriptures since becoming an atheist. It is a topic that fascinates me from a human sociology perspective, which is one of the reasons I keep this blog.

      You use the common defense that atheists such as myself were never truly Christian to begin with. I’m not sure what authority you have to make that claim – you don’t know me personally, and you don’t know my experience as a Christian. Surely only God himself would know for sure, assuming he existed?

      All the best
      Keith

Leave a Reply

