Where romance and reality meet

Having just seen some of Washington D.C.’s attractions for the first time, I have some quick impressions – things that pictures cannot convey.

First of all, I was surprised how expansive and green the Mall and surrounding areas were. I was immediately reminded of Paris and its long, leafy boulevards.

I walked along the beautiful reflecting pool, and it was longer than I had imagined. It smelled of algae, and a thick swarm of tiny gnats buzzed about my head.

Lincoln, sitting on his great chair, loomed very tall indeed. In the dying light of a long summer’s day, he looked a little tired.

The Vietnam Memorial, which has always appeared in my imagination as a wall, was more like a dark fracture in the earth, as if the sorrow of all those deaths was too heavy a burden to bear.

What a beautiful place.

Leave a Reply

