Faith

Here is one of the best analogies for religious faith I’ve seen. It comes from a poster with the username the_ineffable_one at the Freethought and Rationalism discussion board:

Suppose I am a child and live with my brother. Upstairs is a room that is locked and no sound comes from it. My brother tells me that I should have faith that our father is alive and lives in that room. Everyday criminals break in, steal our stuff and beat us up. My brother tells me that I should have faith that our father loves us and is not leaving the room to help us because it’s in our best interest, it’s just that we don’t know why he doesn’t leave the room or say anything. After ten years Dad comes out of the room and says to my brother, ” Both of you are good people. However I only love you because you had faith that I existed but your brother will be tortured for eternity because he had doubts that I was in the room.”

Leave a Reply

