God’s relativistic morality

Christians sometimes suggest I should sit down and pray. Read the Bible. Try once again to believe in God.

Yet the Bible says it’s too late for me. Consider the following passage from 2 Thessalonians:

The coming of the lawless one will be in accordance with how Satan works. He will use all sorts of displays of power through signs and wonders that serve the lie, and all the ways that wickedness deceives those who are perishing. They perish because they refused to love the truth and so be saved. For this reason God sends them a powerful delusion so that they will believe the lie and so that all will be condemned who have not believed the truth but have delighted in wickedness. (2 Thessalonians 2:9-12)

It appears that the moment I became an atheist – refused to love the “truth” – God sent me a powerful delusion so that I would believe the lies of atheism and be condemned for my wickedness.

So, to those Christians who would have me repent, I’m really sorry but it’s God’s will that I be condemned, probably to a place of terrible torture that lasts an eternity. (God is love, right?)

In all seriousness, though, the reason this passage caught my attention is because the chaps at Reasonable Doubts were arguing against presuppositionalism, and part of their argument was to show that God’s morality is incoherent. Part of this latter idea is that God, instead of promoting an absolute morality, promotes a relativistic morality which allows him to use things like deception, murder, and other immoral acts when he needs to.

The scripture from Thessalonians is just one example of God’s use of deception. Here are some others:

1. In 1 Kings 22, God is looking for a way to have Ahab killed (as I said before, God is love, right?). He sends a “lying spirit”:

Now, therefore, behold, the Lord hath put a lying spirit in the mouth of these thy prophets, and the Lord hath spoken evil concerning thee. (1 Kings 22:23).

2. Jeremiah, for one, believed that God was capable of deception, when he said:

O LORD, thou hast deceived me, and I was deceived (Jeremiah 20:7).

3. God has this to say about prophets who have led the Israelites astray:

And if the prophet be deceived when he hath spoken a thing, I the LORD have deceived that prophet (Ezekiel 14:9).

4 Responses to God’s relativistic morality

  1. Justin Schieber says:

    Amen,

    The phrase ‘God is love’ has no meaningful content if there is nothing that god could do that would make it so that he no longer could be properly called love.

    Thanks for mentioning the show.

  2. You, Keith, said:

    “It appears that the moment I became an atheist – refused to love the “truth” – God sent me a powerful delusion so that I would believe the lies of atheism and be condemned for my wickedness.

    So, to those Christians who would have me repent, I’m really sorry but it’s God’s will that I be condemned, probably to a place of terrible torture that lasts an eternity. (God is love, right?)”

    I said:

    Part of the reason I asked you to do a series on your former Christian experience/life, was because I would like to know if you *were* actually a believer and thus saved. Were you what Jesus referred to as “born again?” Were you devout?

    Some people believe that once a person belongs to God, nothing can take him away from God. Some believe “once saved, always saved.”

    Personally, I’m not sure what to believe and can see arguments for both sides of these kinds of questions.

    I think if you were really, truly saved and a real believer, that God is not going to ever really let go of you without one heck of a struggle. Will He eventually turn you over to a “reprobate mind,” however? I guess it’s possible. Many Christians would disagree though and believe that God will never let you go; some of these might instead say that you never were really saved to begin with because God simply does not let go of one of His own. I would love to believe that this is the case and I do hope it is the case with you, Keith.

    But if not…

    I think “separation from God” is going to be the real torture and that those who realize that they’ve been mistaken will regret their error — but apparently there will be no fixing the error at that point. Perhaps the reprobate state of their mind cannot be renewed and thus they will never love or want God in their lives anyway.. maybe all that they will feel is resentment, rage, and hate for God, thus they will be eternally separated from Him and that is apparently the “hell” spoken of in the bible; I don’t know…

    I just hope this will not be the way it is with you, Keith.

  3. Keith says:

    Warrioress: The truth of the matter is that no Christian can properly judge the true state of belief of another Christian. This is because belief is a personal thing that only the believer has full access to. It is sheer hubris for Christians to judge how genuine their brethren’s state of salvation really is.

    I’ll get working on that short personal history…

  4. I agree with you. We can only surmise based upon where you are today but at the end of the matter only God knows your heart. I think God is not letting go of you; hence why I feel a connection and urgency that you see my pov on the various topics we discuss. God uses people to get thru to those whom He loves. I wonder how many Christians He has sent your way over these years since you strayed from Him and your faith.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

